ECE Students: EECS 413 - Monolithic Amplifier Circuits Design Contest

EECS 413: Monolithic Amplifier Circuits, a major design course taken by undergraduate students as well as graduate students, includes a contest and cash prize for the best designs in the class. This popular course taught by Prof. Michael Flynn offers an introduction to CMOS analog and mixed signal design.

First Place, 2010
"A High PSRR, Low Drop-Out Voltage Regulator using Feed-forward Ripple Cancellation"

ECE Team Members: Karan Jain, Abishek Madhavan and Aswin Rao (all EE MS students) presented high power-supply rejection (PSR), high bandwidth low drop-out (LDO) voltage regulator using feed-forward ripple cancellation. Architecture provided PVT-tolerant design with high PSRR of 50dB for wide range of frequencies. Team achieved most efficient LDO design to come out of EECS 413.

Second Place, 2010
"A 1.2ps Resolution, 76dB Dynamic Range Time-to-Digital Converter Based on a Tunable Vernier Delay Line"

ECE Team Members: Suyoung Bang, Dongsuk Jeon and Yejoong Kim (all EE PhD students) built an auto-calibration process, tunable delay lines, and DAC (Digital-to-Analog Converter). Using a reference pulse width, the calibration controller tried to find an optimum DAC code to generate the appropriate bias voltages for the tunable delay lines.

First Place Tie, 2009
"Investigation of a CMOS Monolithic Buck Converter for USB Applications"

ECE Team Members: Nathan Roberts, Qiong Wu and Zhengzheng Wu (all EE graduate students) designed a Switching Buck Converter that provides a solution to monolithically integrated power management units for USB controllers in the 130 technology node, which has potential applications in USB connected consumer electronics.

First Place Tie, 2009
"Low-Noise Current to Voltage Differential Amplifier"

ECE Team Members: David Chen, Joseph Parent and Aaron Rocca (all EE undergraduate students) designed an amplifier that accepts two currents as inputs and outputs a voltage proportional to the difference in input currents. The gain is set externally, allowing for a large range of input currents.

First Place ($1,500 Prize), 2008
"Charge Pump Assisted Class-AB Headphone Amplifier"

ECE Team Members: Nick Collins, Jeffrey Fredenburg and Eddie Hoskin (all EE undergraduate students) designed an audio amplifier for use in portable electronic devices (such as iPods or cell phones) to drive low-impedance earbud-type headphones.

Second Place ($500 Prize), 2008
"A 1-V, 900-nW Low-Noise Amplifiers for Neural Recording Applications"

ECE Team Members: Zeshan Ahmad, Khaled Al-Ashmouny and Kuo-Ken Huang (all EE graduate students) designed an energy efficient low-noise nano-power amplifier that will enable the recording of thousands of simultaneous neural activities without heating or damaging brain tissue. Their design will also allow neuroscientists to shrink the size of the probes while multiplying their number, thereby safely increasing the amount of information they can gain.

First Place ($1,000 Prize), 2007
"Novel 1μW Temperature Sensor

ECE Team Members: Jonathan Brown, Francine Shammami and John DeBusscher designed sensor with a device output that is an oscillation frequency which varies linearly with temperature. Key innovations in this work ensure very low power consumption and independence from power supply voltage.

Back to "ECE Students: Team Awards

ECE Awards Home