ECE Students: EECS 627 - VLSI Design II AMD/Michigan Student Design Contest

The annual Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) / Michigan Student Design Contest was held among the students of EECS 627: VLSI Design II.

First Place ($3,500 Prize), 2008
"Energy Efficient MPEG-1 Video Decoder with Dynamic Voltage and Frequency Scaling"

ECE Team Members: Orijit Dhar, Chris Hsiong, Evan Li, and Darryl Prudich (all graduate students) designed an MPEG video decoder that intelligently makes decisions about how fast it needs to work depending on the difficulty of the incoming bitstream, rather than handling the worst case workload at all times.


Back to "ECE Students: Team Awards"

ECE Awards Home