Dennis Schweiger Receives College of Engineering Staff Excellence Award   Bookmark and Share

Dennis Schweiger, Facilities Supervisor for the Lurie Nanofabrication Facility, has been selected to receive a 2009 College of Engineering Staff Excellence Award for sustained excellence during his time at the College of Engineering.

Dennis joined the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) in 1995. In his current role as LNF Facilities Supervisor, he recently designed and implemented the existing life-safety system for the facility and the EECS Building. "The fact that no injuries, property damage or lost research time have occurred in labs where Dennis has helped to design safe gas delivery and detection systems is a testament to his dedication and talent," stated Lisa Stowe, senior representative for Occupational Safety and Environmental Health.

The current LNF facility is an expansion of the former Solid-State Electronics Lab. Dennis was a key component of the team that conceived, designed, and constructed the facility, and he currently provides facility support services for hundreds of LNF users. His expertise is well-known, and he is known for being extremely generous with his time and talent to faculty, staff, and students alike. This includes assisting new faculty with the move and installation of their labs here at Michigan. One of the largest of such moves was that of U-M's VP for Research and William Gould Dow Collegiate Professor in Electrical Engineering, Steve Forrest, who moved 9 large trucks and about 1 million pieces of equipment to U-M under Dennis' supervision, and reports having a functional lab in record time.

Mr. Schweiger has a talent for bringing together disparate groups and helping them work together. He is sought after by students, faculty, and administrators alike for his expertise, which is always offered in a friendly and comfortable manner.

Dennis will be honored with the College of Engineering Staff Excellence Award at a public ceremony in Chesebrough Auditorium Friday, May 8 at 3pm.