Four CSE Faculty Selected for 2013-14 College of Engineering Awards

  Bookmark and Share

Congratulations to the following CSE Faculty recipients of 2013-14 College of Engineering Awards:

David Chesney

Raymond J. and Monica E. Schultz Outreach & Diversity Award
Dr. David Chesney has a remarkable record with respect to both outreach and promoting diversity. Under his direction and in conjunction with CS Mott Children's Hospital, undergraduate students in the College of Engineering have developed and deployed computer games and applications with the goal of providing meaningful assistance to severely disabled children, demonstrating for these students how their work can positively impact the world. Dr. Chesney has been involved with outreach to under-represented groups through numerous programs for more than ten years, including WISE-GISE (middle school girls), Grace Hopper Project (high school girls), and LEAD (under-represented minorities) summer camps. When the CoE Office of Student Affairs received a grant from the Michigan Economic Development Corporation to run a summer camp in cities across Michigan with the aim of attracting under-represented groups to computer science, Dr. Chesney helped to design the camp activities and ran the camp in its first year. He has also been involved in general outreach to K-12 education for Engineering broadly and regularly visits local schools and hosts pre-college students with the intent of recruiting under-represented groups. Dr. Chesney's work has been recognized and funded by Microsoft, Google, Lockheed-Martin, and John Deere.

Andrew DeOrio

Thomas M. Sawyer, Jr. Teaching Award
Dr. Andrew DeOrio is an energetic, caring, and effective educator. He joined the CSE Division as a Lecturer in January 2012, and in his first year taught over 1500 students in EECS 280, 281, and as an assistant in 381, winning the Yahoo! Teaching Award and the College of Engineering Towner Prize in the process. Dr. DeOrio was also chosen by students as the HKN CSE Professor of the Year in 2013. In this time period, he was invited to give two pedagogical presentations the topics of Student Assessment and Teaching with Technology at events hosted by the U-M Center for Research for Learning and Teaching and the U-M Enriching Scholarship Conference. In EECS 280 specifically, he restructured the curriculum to better align the EECS 280/281/381 programming sequence, introducing a significant amount of new material and transitioning the discussion section of the course into a lab section with the goal of increasing one-on-one instruction, effective in-class collaboration, and hands-on learning. Dr. DeOrio is an active CSE advisor and provides mentoring to undergraduate students doing research in the areas of computer architecture, artificial intelligence, and automatic student project code evaluation.

Scott Mahlke

Education Excellence Award
Prof. Scott Mahlke is an excellent researcher and engaged educator within the EECS department.  His research focuses on a unique area spanning both compilers and computer architecture, thus his graduate students learn both hardware and software skills, which positions them advantageously for professional careers. He and his students have developed new methods to customize hardware functionality to the software that it runs to increase energy efficiency and enable new performance levels to be reached.  In the classroom, Prof. Mahlke reinforces central concepts with a large number of examples to promote interaction and involvement, and strives to build an atmosphere of mutual respect and free discussion. He routinely incorporates his research into his classes, including his undergraduate classes, which is very exciting and motivating to students. His quantitative feedback from students makes him one of the top rated teachers in the department and written comments from students is highly enthusiastic. Prof. Mahlke introduced EECS 583 (Advanced Compilers) into the EECS curriculum that focuses on building compilers for tomorrows processors and accelerators.  He is also a regular instructor of EECS 370.

Quentin Stout

Ted Kennedy Family Team Excellence Award
Prof. Quentin Stout has been a key contributor, along with eleven other senior College of Engineering faculty named in this award, to the Center for Radiative Shock Hydrodynamics (CRASH), which was established in 2008 through the National Nuclear Security Administration's Office of Advanced Simulation and Computing. CRASH has developed predictive science techniques and applied them to radiative shock waves: shocks that move at more than 100 kilometers per second through plasma at millions of atmospheres pressure and millions of Kelvin temperature. The scientific applications of the computational work addressed by the CRASH team address important physics from the smallest scales to the largest, and in what is considered breakthrough work in 2012, the team successfully predicted the results of a complex, three-dimensional experiment that had not been performed previously. This is the second time that Prof. Stout has won the Team Excellence Award.

Updated: February 7, 2014