Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

National Advisory Committee (NAC)

The EECS National Advisory Committee is a group of leaders from academia and industry who comprise the main external advisory board to EECS at The University of Michigan. The NAC considers pressing issues and opportunities facing the EECS Department, and offers their support through discussion and counsel. In recent years, the NAC has addressed issues such as major curriculum reform, organizational structure of the department, and freshman programs. .


  • Nicolaos G. Alexopoulos, Dean of Engineering, U-C, Irvine
  • Michael S. Barnes, Chief Technical Officer, Intevac, Inc.
  • Jack Breese, Washington Advisory Group, Affiliate
  • Sailesh Chutani, Director, External Research and Programs, Microsoft Research
  • David DeWitt, John P. Morgridge Professor of Computer Science, University of Wisconsin
  • Ramesh Jain, Donald Bren Professor in Information & Computer Science, U-C, Irvine
  • James Kurose, Professor, Computer Science, University of Massachussetts
  • Carl Page, Chief Technology Officer, Handheld Entertainment
  • William H. Sanders, Donald Biggar Willett Professor, ECE Department, UIUC
  • Mark J. T. Smith, Michael J. & Katherine R. Birck Professor, Head of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Purdue University
  • Michael Tamor, Executive Technical Leader, Hybrid Electric and Fuel Cell Vehicle Research, Ford Motor Company
  • Sandip Tiwari, Professor, ECE Department, Cornell University