CSE Faculty: ACM Honors and Awards

ACM Distinguished Scientist Award

ACM's Distinguished Member Grade recognizes those ACM members with at least 15 years of professional experience and 5 years of continuous professional membership who have achieved significant accomplishments or have made a significant impact on the computing field.

CSE faculty who have been honored as an ACM Distinguished Scientist are:


ACM-ICPC Coach Award

The ACM-ICPC Coach Award is given to an individual who has brought student programming teams to the ACM International Collegiate Programming Competition on five or more occations. Just over 100 teams worldwide advance to the ICPC each year.

CSE faculty who have received the ACM-ICPC Coach Award are:

Kevin Compton      


ACM/IEEE Eckert–Mauchly Award

The Eckert–Mauchly award, initiated in 1979, is an award given by the Association for Computing Machinery for contributions to digital systems and computer architecture. It was named for John Presper Eckert and John William Mauchly, who in 1947 collaborated on the design and construction of the first large scale electronic computing machine, known as ENIAC, the Electronic Numerical Integrator and Computer. The award is administered jointly with the IEEE.

CSE faculty who have received the ACM/IEEE Eckert-Mauchly Award are:

Edward S. Davidson, 2000 (Emeritus)   Trevor Mudge, 2014
Yale Patt, 1996      


ACM-SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award

This award award acknowledges the contributions of outstanding researchers in the field of autonomous agents, and is granted each year to one individual whose work is influencing and setting the direction for the field.

CSE faculty who have received the ACM-SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award are:


ACM-SIGARCH Maurice Wilkes Award

This award is given by the SIGARCH Executive Committee annually for an outstanding contribution to computer architecture made by an individual whose computer-related professional career began no earlier than January 1st of the year that is 20 years prior to the time of nomination. ACM SIGARCH serves a unique community of computer professionals working on the forefront of computer design in both industry and academia. It is ACM's primary forum for interchange of ideas about tomorrow's hardware and its interactions with compilers and operating systems.

CSE faculty who have received the ACM-SIGARCH Maurice Wilkes Award are:

Todd Austin      


ACM-SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award

The SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award recognizes a junior faculty member early in her or his academic career who demonstrates outstanding potential as an educator and/or researcher in the field of electronic design automation.

CSE faculty who have received the ACM-SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award are:

Igor Markov



ACM-SIGDA Technical Leadership Award

The SIGDA Technical Leadership Award recognizes efforts and contributions for creating or supporting SIGDA sponsored program. The award is given to volunteers who ensure smooth operation of our many professional development programs.

CSE faculty who have received the ACM-SIGDA Technical Leadership Award are:

Igor Markov



ACM-SIGOPS Mark Weiser Award

This award is given to individuals with demonstrated contributions to operating systems research. It is presented to individuals whose work is deemed highly creative, innovative, and possibly high-risk, in keeping with the visionary spirit of Mark Weiser.

CSE faculty who have received the ACM-SIGOPS Mark Weiser Award are:

Peter M. Chen      


Return to CSE National/External Honors and Awards Page

Return to CSE Honors and Awards Home