William Gould Dow Distinguished Lecture Series

High Technology Electronics Research and Education

Prof. Lester F. Eastman

Thursday, October 17, 2002
4:00pm - 6:00pm
Lee Iococca Room (1504 GG Brown)

Add to Google Calendar
Prof. Lester F. Eastman John L. Given Foundation Professor of Engineering School of Electrical and Computer Engineering Cornell University

About the Event

Compound semiconductors and their heterojunctions, as well as nanofabrication technology, have led to substantial microwave and photonic device innovations and developments, especially at universities. During the past 25 years the nanofabrication, and during the past 37 years the compound semiconductor material growth, have been substantial components of the graduate research and education at Cornell. In addition, substantial interaction with many industries and universities have occurred. A number of other U.S. universities now have such nanofabrication facilities and expertise, and in the past two years, countries like Sweden and Germany have constructed these facilities, for example. Graduate students are learning to independently operate sophisticated equipment, and to be innovative in achieving new and better materials and devices. "Device quality" materials structures, with high purity, composition control, and abrupt heterojunction continue to be advanced. Some innovation samples have been atomic-planar doping, pseudomorphic quantum well lasers for .98 mm pumps for fiber amplifiers and for high speed direct modulation, AlInAs barriers for InP-based HEMTís, AlGaInP visible lasers, undoped polarization-induced two-dimensional electron gas HEMT of AlGaN/GaN for record microwave power density, 1020/cm3 electrons in Al.8Ga.2N for UV optical sources, and initial epitaxial InN with the proper band gap of ~ .8 V. The experiences of the graduate students in achieving these advances have positioned them for very strong careers in industry and at universities.


Since 1965, Prof. Eastman has been doing research on compound semiconductor materials, high speed devices, and circuits, and has been active in organizing workshops and conferences on these subjects at Cornell. In 1977, he joined other Cornell faculty members to found the National Research and Resource Sub Micron Facility at Cornell (now Cornell Nanofabrication Facility). He initiated the Joint Services Electronics Program at Cornell in 1977 and directed it for ten years. He was the IEEE Electron Device Society National Lecturer in 1983. He was a member of the U.S. Government Advisory Group on Electron Devices from 1978-1988, and serves as a consultant for several industries. He is a Fellow of IEEE and APS, a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the Electromagnetics Academy, and was appointed the John L. Given Foundation Professor of Engineering at Cornell in January 1985. In 1991 he was awarded the Welker Medal and Annual Award of the International Symposium on Gallium Arsenide and Related Compounds. He was awarded the Alexander von Humboldt Senior Fellowship in 1994, and the Aldert van der Ziel Award in 1995. The IEEE honored him with their 1999 Graduate Teaching Award and Third Millennium Medal 2000. He has supervised 110 Ph.D. theses. Over the years his students and former students have made significant contributions and won national and international prizes by advancing the state of the art of molecular beam epitaxy and microwave transistors, and optoelectronic devices.

Additional Information

Contact: Catharine June


Sponsor(s): EECS

Open to: Public