EECS Students are Winners in DAC/ISSCC 2009 Student Design Contest   Bookmark and Share

Mingoo Seok, Ian Burgess (Mentor Graphics), Prof. Dennis Sylvester at DAC   Mingoo Seok at ISSCC

Congratulations to the team honored as one of the winners of the international 2009 DAC/ISSCC (Design Automation Conference/Int. Solid-State Circuits Conference) Student Design Contest! Their winning project and paper, Phoenix: An Ultra-Low Power Processor for Cubic Millimeter Sensor Systems, was submitted by the following students (at the time): Mingoo Seok, Scott Hanson, Yu-Shiang Lin, Zhiyoong Foo, Daeyeon Kim, Yoonmyung Lee, and Nurrachman Liu, and their advisors, Professors Dennis Sylvester and David Blaauw.

As announced in a press release issued by DAC, a total of nine winning teams were selected from more than 60 entries in three categories: operational chip design, for an IC design which was built and tested; system design, for FPGA or other programmable architectures; and conceptual design, in which a project was designed and simulated, but not necessarily implemented. The Phoenix Processor belonged to the operational chip design category.

The purpose of the DAC/ISSCC Student Design Contest is to promote excellence in the design of electronic systems by providing competition between graduate and undergraduate students at universities and colleges.

Posted: August 13, 2009 by
Catharine June
EECS/ECE Communications Coordinator or 734-936-2965