HV Jagadish Elected as Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

  Bookmark and Share

HV Jagadish

HV Jagadish, the Bernard A. Galler Collegiate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and a distinguished scientist at the Michigan Institute for Data Science, is one of seven UM faculty members newly elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society, and the publisher of the journal Science.

The UM professors join 389 scientists and engineers from across the nation who were chosen by their peers for their "efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished," according to AAAS.

Prof. Jagadish, who studies how to help people access and manage information, is honored for distinguished contributions to database systems and many aspects of Big Data and data science, specifically for new ways to share data.

He is widely recognized for his pioneering work on multi-dimensional data, and for developing new representation techniques and indexing schemes to store and retrieve non-conventional data sets such as geometric objects and text. His research is currently centered around the usability of Big Data, particularly when the data involved comes from multiple heterogeneous sources and has undergone many manipulations.

Over his lifetime, Jagadish has published more papers in VLDB, one of the most eminent venues for the timely dissemination of research and development results in the field of database management, than anyone else.

"As Big Data now impacts all aspects of society, we really need to understand this impact and be responsible in the exercise of its power," Jagadish said when asked about his work that led to this honor.

Prof. Jagadish has served on the board of the Computing Research Association (CRA) since 2009. He holds 37 patents and has published over 225 refereed papers.

His recognitions include an ACM SIGMOD Contributions Award, a UM David E. Liddle Award for Research Excellence, and a UM Herbert Kopf Award for Service Excellence. He is a fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

This year's AAAS Fellows will be formally announced in Science magazine on Nov. 24 and will be honored in February at the AAAS annual meeting in Austin, Texas.

Read more:

University Record: Seven U-M scientists, engineers named 2017 AAAS fellows
AAAS: 2017 AAAS Fellows Recognized for Advancing Science

Posted: November 21, 2017