ECE Early Career Awards

The National Science Foundation CAREER (formerly known as the Presidential Young Investigator Award) and PECASE (Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers) awards are the foundation's most highly-esteemed awards for junior faculty members. They were established to recognize and support the early career development activities of those teacher-scholars who are most likely to become the academic leaders of the 21st century. Recipients are selected on the basis of creative career-development plans that effectively integrate research and education within the context of the missions of their institutions.

The YIA (Young Investigator Award) Programs support faculty research and encourage faculty teaching and research careers. Recipients have typically held their graduate degrees for fewer than five years. There are a variety of agencies which honor junior faculty members through YIA programs. This list includes, but is not limited to, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFSOR), Office of Naval Research (ONR), Army Research Office (ARO) and Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA).

YearNameAward NameAwarding Entity
2010Afshari, EhsanCAREER AwardNSF
2004Anastasopoulos, AchilleasCAREER AwardNSF
2019Balzano, LauraYoung Investigator ProgramAFOSR
2018Balzano, LauraNon-Tenured Faculty Award3M
2015Balzano, LauraEarly Career Faculty Honor Program AwardIntel
2018Berenson, DmitryCAREER AwardNSF
2010Corso, JasonYoung Investigator AwardARO
2009Corso, JasonCAREER AwardNSF
2016Deotare, ParagYoung Investigator AwardAFOSR
2004Dick, RobertCAREER AwardNSF
2004Flynn, MichaelCAREER AwardNSF
1988Freudenberg, JamesYoung Investigator AwardNSF
2000Gianchandani, Yogesh B.CAREER AwardNSF
2010Grbic, AnthonyPresidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)AFOSR
2008Grbic, AnthonyCAREER AwardNSF
2007Grbic, AnthonyYoung Investigator AwardAFOSR
1987Grizzle, JessyYoung Investigator AwardNSF
1986Jenkins, JaniceYoung Investigator AwardNSF
2018Kim, Hun-SeokYoung Faculty AwardDARPA
2018Kim, Hun-SeokYoung Faculty AwardDARPA
2010Ku, Pei-ChengYoung Faculty AwardDARPA
1990Lafortune, StephaneYoung Investigator AwardNSF
2016Lee, Somin EuniceYoung Investigator AwardAFOSR
2015Lee, Somin EuniceCAREER AwardNSF
2003Liu, MingyanCAREER AwardNSF
2010Lu, WeiCAREER AwardNSF
2019Mathieu, JohannaErnest and Bettine Kuh Distinguished Faculty AwardEECS
2014Nadakuditi, RajeshYoung Faculty AwardDARPA
2012Nadakuditi, RajeshYoung Investigator AwardAFOSR
2011Nadakuditi, RajeshYoung Investigator AwardONR
1992Najafi, KhalilNational Young Investigator AwardNSF
2018Ozay, NecmiyeYoung Investigator AwardONR
2018Ozay, Necmiye1938E AwardCollege of Engineering
2018Ozay, NecmiyeHenry Russel AwardUniversity of Michigan
2016Ozay, NecmiyeCAREER AwardNSF
2016Ozay, NecmiyeEarly Career Faculty Development AwardNASA
2014Ozay, NecmiyeYoung Faculty AwardDARPA
2018Peterson, Becky (R.L.)Henry Russel AwardUniversity of Michigan
2017Peterson, Becky (R.L.)CAREER AwardNSF
2016Peterson, Becky (R.L.)Director's FellowshipDARPA
2014Peterson, Becky (R.L.)Young Faculty AwardDARPA
2007Phillips, JamieYoung Faculty AwardDARPA/MTO
2003Phillips, JamieCAREER AwardNSF
2005Pradhan, S. SandeepCAREER AwardNSF
2012Revzen, ShaiYoung Investigator AwardARO
2010Scott, ClaytonCAREER AwardNSF
1985Stark, WayneYoung Investigator AwardNSF
2002Sylvester, DennisCAREER AwardNSF
1987Wakefield, GregoryPresidential Young Investigator AwardNSF
2012Wentzloff, DavidCAREER AwardNSF
2009Wentzloff, DavidYoung Faculty AwardDARPA
2018Willingale, LouiseCAREER AwardNSF
1987Winful, HerbertPresidential Young Investigator AwardNSF
1990Yagle, AndrewYoung Investigator AwardONR
1988Yagle, AndrewYoung Investigator AwardNSF
2013Zhang, ZhengyaEarly Career Faculty Honor Program AwardIntel
2010Zhang, ZhengyaCAREER AwardNSF
2013Zhong, ZhaohuiCAREER AwardNSF
Records Found: 58