ECE News Story

UM Wins DAC/ISSCC Student Design Contest

First place in the Conceptual Category of the Design Automation Conference / International Solid-State Circuits Conference Student Design Contest went to EECS graduate students Robert J. Senger, Matthew Guthaus, Eric D. Marsman, Michael S. McCorquodale, Fadi H. Gebara, Keith L. Kraver, and their advisor, Prof. Richard B. Brown. Their project was the design of a 16-bit mixed-signal microsystem with integrated CMOS-MEMS clock reference.

Second place in the Conceptual category went to Masoud Agah, Yang Li, Robert M. Senger, and Prof. Kensall D. Wise; they designed an integrated thermally-based microflow sensor.

This is the second year in a row for a first place finish at this prestigious conference. The 2002 first-place team consisted of doctoral candidates Steven M. Martin and Roy H. Olsson, III, and faculty advisor Prof. Richard B. Brown. Their project, "A Microsystem for Near-Patient Accelerated Clotting Time Blood Tests" also won the prize for best overall paper.