EECS News Topics

Zhong, Zhaohui:

A better 3D camera with clear, graphene light detectors

A camera that can record 3D images and video is under development, with $1.2 million in funding from the W.M. Keck Foundation. The new technology makes use of the special characteristics of graphene, and is anticipated to have dramatic applications in artificial bionic eyes, industrial imaging, robotic vision, and medical imaging. Leading the research are professors Ted Norris, Zhaohui Zhong, and Jeff Fessler. [Full Story]
Related Topics:  Electronic devices   Fessler, Jeffrey   Health and Safety   Medical Imaging   Norris, Theodore B.   Optics and Photonics   Signal & Image Processing and Machine Learning   Solid-State Devices and Nanotechnology   

Soon We Will Hunt Like Predator With This New Night-Vision Sensor

Graphene could make it possible to build ultra-thin, flexible thermal sensors for built-in night vision technology just like that lethal alien in the Predator franchise. Last year, Zhaohui Zhong created a prototype graphene-based contact lens that could image IR at room-temperature. That device is about the size of a fingernail and could be scaled down further, making it suitable for contact lenses or arrays of infrared camera sensors for wearable electronics. [Full Story]
Related Topics:  Electronic devices   

Technological implants will allow us to improve our bodily functions

Trans-humanism isn't just about appearance. Bulky night-vision goggles have been used for years by the armed forces, but scientists at the University of Michigan [Prof. Zhaohui Zhong and his group] recently unveiled technology that could lead to contact lenses that allow the wearer to see in the dark. [Full Story]
Related Topics:  Solid-State Devices and Nanotechnology   Wearable electronics   

New graphene sensor technology for personal and environmental health

A new wearable vapor sensor could one day offer continuous disease monitoring for patients with diabetes, high blood pressure, anemia or lung disease. The new sensor, which can detect airborne chemicals either exhaled or released through the skin, would likely be the first wearable to pick up a broad array of chemical, rather than physical, attributes. [Full Story]
Related Topics:  Health and Safety   Sensing and Sensors   Solid-State Devices and Nanotechnology   Wearable electronics   

2014 Promotions of our Faculty

Congratulations to the following faculty who received promotions this year: Valeria Bertacco, Jason Flinn, Satish Narayanasamy, Edwin Olson, Mina Rais-Zadeh, and Zhaohui Zhong. Keep up the great work! [Full Story]
Related Topics:  Bertacco, Valeria   Flinn, Jason   Narayanasamy, Satish   Olson, Edwin   Rais-Zadeh, Mina   

Infrared Sensor Could Lead to Night Vision Contact Lenses (with video)

Paradigm Shifting Research Advances in Sensor Technology

Girish Kulkarni, a graduate student in the Electrical Engineering Program, received a U-M Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship to support research that has resulted in a new paradigm in sensor technology. His carbon nanoelectronic heterodyne sensor promises both high-speed and highly-sensitive chemical and biological detection. [Full Story]
Related Topics:  Graduate Students   Health and Safety   Sensing and Sensors   Solid-State Devices and Nanotechnology   

Night-Vision Contact Lenses that use Infrared Technology

[Full Story]
Related Topics:  Norris, Theodore B.   

Graphene Gives You Infrared Vision in a Contact Lens

[Full Story]
Related Topics:  Norris, Theodore B.   

New tech could lead to night vision contact lenses

The first room-temperature light detector that can sense the full infrared (IR) spectrum has the potential to put heat vision technology into a contact lens. IR vision allows us to see in the dark, monitor blood flow, identify chemicals in the environment, and even peer under layers of paint. [Full Story]
Related Topics:  Health and Safety   LNF   Norris, Theodore B.   Optics and Photonics   Solid-State Devices and Nanotechnology   

Nanotechnology and Progress: A Quantum Entanglement

In this brief overview of nanotechnology research in ECE, well look at how research at the nanoscale is impacting lighting, medicine, displays, electronics, information security and the far-out world of quantum computing. Our faculty are also looking into how to manufacture these devices. [Full Story]
Related Topics:  Bhattacharya, Pallab   Electronic devices   Energy Science and Engineering   Forrest, Stephen   Guo, L. Jay   Health and Safety   Ku, Pei-Cheng (P.C.)   Lasers and Optics   Lighting and LEDs   Lu, Wei   MEMS and Microsystems   Memristor   Norris, Theodore B.   Optics and Photonics   Peterson, Becky (R. L.)   Phillips, Jamie D.   Quantum Science and Technology   Steel, Duncan   Yoon, Euisik   

Zhaohui Zhong Receives CAREER Award for Research in Graphene-based Optoelectronics

Prof. Zhaohui Zhong, assistant professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, was recently awarded an NSF CAREER award for his research project, "Graphene Heterostructures Based Hot Carrier Optoelectronics." [Full Story]
Related Topics:  Electronic devices   Optics and Photonics   Solid-State Devices and Nanotechnology   

Seunghyun Lee takes the gold for all-graphene flexible and transparent circuit

EE doctoral candidate Seunghyun Lee was honored with a Gold Graduate Student Award by the Material Research Society for his research on flexible transparent circuits made entirely from graphene. Graphene is expected to play a pivotal role in realizing high speed, mechanically compliant, and transparent electronic systems in the near future. [Full Story]
Related Topics:  Electronic devices   Solid-State Devices and Nanotechnology   

Enabling flexible, transparent electronics with high speed communications for the first time

Prof. Zhaohui Zhong and his team of graduate students, Seunghyun Lee, Kyunghoon Lee, Chang-Hua Liu, and Girish S. Kulkarni, have built the first flexible, transparent digital modulator for high speed communications, made solely out of graphene. [Full Story]
Related Topics:  LNF   Solid-State Devices and Nanotechnology   Wearable electronics   

Energy and Power: Engineering Sustainable Solutions From the Macro to the Micro Levels

There is no shortage of energy being devoted to finding new and sustainable energy solutions. Even amidst the current economic challenges, the U.S. government is supporting these efforts with nearly a 50% increase in funding for energy-related research that includes energy efficiency and renewable energy, smart grid and efficient electrical transmission, green cars, and basic scientific research. [Full Story]
Related Topics:  Control Systems   Electric Vehicles and HEVs   Energy Science and Engineering   Entrepreneurship and Tech Transfer   Forrest, Stephen   Grizzle, Jessy   Hiskens, Ian   Hofmann, Heath   Ku, Pei-Cheng (P.C.)   Lighting and LEDs   Najafi, Khalil   Norris, Theodore B.   Phillips, Jamie D.   Power and Energy   Solid-State Devices and Nanotechnology   Sustainability and Environment